Figurative Drawer

Standard
Chest'n Drawers_modomatic

Chest'n Drawers by monomatic http://www.flickr.com/photos/modomatic/ / CC BY 2.0

Working on Julia. This is a story I completed for NaNoWriMo and, after several years, have dug out from the bottom of the figurative drawer. I knew there would be quite a bit of editing work involved. The original story stretched over months and if, a few posts ago, I was worried about mourning taking too long over five pages, can you imagine it over six months?

I’ve accelerated the timeline, hoping to push most of the action into only a few weeks. Not sure if this is going to work logistically. I need time for a will to go through probate which, I believe, takes a while. I noticed in the NaNo version, I conveniently skipped making her go back to work…well, she did go back to work, I just conveniently omitted those scenes. And work is rather central to who she is. Hmmm.

My page count of trimmed copy (hopefully leaner and meaner fiction), is stretching into the 30s and Julia is still morning. Luckily, I think, we’re only on day three post-death, so mourning is expected. I am in constant fear of her being too morose and boring the reader. The plot is moving forward, characters are being explored, so I should stop worrying, right?

In my editing, I’ve noted a place where I need to add a scene. Up to this point, I’ve been shuffling and cutting scenes. For some reason, the idea of writing a new scene from scratch is terrifying! I’m not sure why. It’s not like I’m going to ruin something that’s wholly perfect as is. And I can’t ruin it (delete is a wonderful function). Am I worried that, having successfully (ahem) completed a manuscript (in size at least), that I can’t go back to actually writing, creating? Have I shut off the creating section of the brain to unleash the editor? Is switching between the two too difficult? Am I just lazy?

Ah, again back to the laziness. Every once in a while, I’ll wonder how Stephen King did it. How Gloria Naylor did it. How, quite frankly, anyone did it. The answer I keep coming back to, as I chastise myself for whining, is that they weren’t lazy. They just did it. No Gatorade or Nikes needed. They just sat down and wrote.

I need to figure out a way to inject a little bit of that type A non-lazy into me. Or, concoct a Gatorade for writers. And don’t tell me that it’s coffee, I think writers need electrolyte thingies, too. Or some fancy science-found element that recharges our brain and typing fingers. Taking name suggestions now.

2 thoughts on “Figurative Drawer

Leave a Reply

