Editing = ?

Standard
Needle by AMagill

Needle by AMagill http://www.flickr.com/photos/amagill/ / CC BY 2.0

What’s it say when you don’t want to read your own stuff?

I know that I’ve written the next scene in Julia…I just can’t find it and I don’t want to read through my  full rough draft to find it. I’ve tried the shortcuts of searching for words I think might be in the scene only to find out that I’m grossly mistaken.

Since I’m in the editing phase, I really think I should edit this next section instead of write it from scratch. That doesn’t seem unreasonable, does it?

I just rewrote a scene and then realized that I had written it previously. I went back to the original to see if I could steal phrases to strengthen and round out my new scene, but it turns out that nothing was really salvageable. Is that what editing is? Realizing that your original scenes were merely placeholders, rough ideas, scenes that were so poorly written that they should be scraped?

I’m good with rewriting. But since I wrote it once, I’d at least like to see it and use it as a foundation…as a spring board to jog those creative juices. But I just don’t want to wade through the whole rough draft again and I can’t remember, roughly, where the scene was supposed to play out. Beginning, middle or end. Ug.

One thought on “Editing = ?

Leave a Reply

