Plotting

Standard
NaNoWriMo Crest Logo Image courtesy NaNoWriMo.org

NaNoWriMo Crest Logo Image courtesy NaNoWriMo.org

So, I’ve decided to NaNo…since my friends on Twitter are doing it, I figured I might as well. (And yes, Mom, if my Twitter friends jumped off a cliff, I would too.) Of course, other NaNo-ites on Twitter (find them with #nanowrimo) have made me feel completely unprepared.

Mid-September, someone mentioned that they were finished with their NaNo outline. (record scratch) What?!

Now we’re into November and I only have a few short days (seriously, it’s getting dark way too early) before I have to start writing 2000 words a day. I am no where near starting an outline. I’ve settled upon an idea (well, maybe not), but plot seems a far way off. I’ve had this idea rattling around my brain for a few years and it hasn’t formed into anything other than a few detailed opening scenes. No plot. No real problems to confront. No real characters have been developed. There is a little mistaken identity, but nothing to write home about yet.

I realize this point of NaNo is to push me into figuring out all those things as I go, so I shouldn’t be worried. After all, the founder wrote a book entitled No Plot, No Problem. But I can’t help but compare myself to others. So, when should one start plotting? December 1? October? November 15?

Oh, crap! Here comes the second thoughts.

Leave a Reply

