Zap: Procrastination!

Standard

Since it’s the day before Thanksgiving, we got off early from work. Instead of being a dedicated NaNo-er and knocking off some of my word count, I found ways to procrastinate. Mainly a) braving the grocery store (no so bad, actually) and b) playing around on Xtranormal, a site where you can make a mini animated movie.

I only recreated a forty second scene, but playing with the camera angles, facial expressions and hand movements was more fun than it should have been. I even threw in a disco twist at the end. The conversation could have taken a whole new turn after that, if only I’d let it.

Rather than sharing the scene with you, and I did think about it, I just played it a couple time for laughs and then deleted it (or rather, didn’t publish it). I didn’t think the world was ready for my big NaNo reveal. More like, I wasn’t ready for it.

I told my mom that I was doing on NaNo again this year and she promptly asked if she could read it. I generally waffle and try to put negative answers in as kind a light as I can, but before she even had the chance to finish her question I shouted “NO!”

There is one fellow NaNo-er who will get to see 2009’s version sans spit polish. It’s an exclusive club of one. And that club does not include my mother. Nor you, fair reader. I’m sorry.

Anyway, Xtranormal was a fun waste of too much time. And, after hearing American English Male 2 read the lines I’d written, I was able to add a few more words here and there. So, I guess I really was working on my word count after all.

Luckily, other people aren’t as gun shy as I am. Here’s Lazer Gun (not a NaNo piece as far as I know – although we could all learn a few word count tricks from his dialogue – but fun just the same). Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Zap: Procrastination!

  1. I find it really hard to let people read my work before it is ‘finished’ or at least in that semi-pretend state that I call finished before the eight-hundreth edit. Goodluck finishing your nano.

  2. Cam

    Thanks Cassandra! I’m trying to be better about showing people my pre-perfect pieces by not polishing them quite so much before they go to my writer’s group. It’s hard though.

    Only 1000 words left for Nano…my brain has quite functioning, so I’ll have to wait until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

