I’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’

Standard
Male and female cardinals kissing on spring branch
Love’s Old Sweet Song by Linda Yvonne
CC BY 2.0

There are three surefire ways to not get published: 1) don’t write 2) don’t finish 3) don’t submit

Well, I’ve already f**ed up on number one, but I’m well on my way to acing number two, so number three is pretty much in the bag.

I knew that taking a break from Julia could be costly…once I left would I be able to get back into it? After all, I was running into problems and didn’t know how to finish some scenes. I figured that a NaNo break ending would be like a due date to my slacking off.

I only have a few hours of November left and I’m dreading December. I picked up the first five pages of Julia over the weekend and reread the intro. It’s what I’ll be reading at my writer’s group’s public reading (panic!), so I figured it would be a good way to get back into it. It’s the intro, it’ll suck me right in…or not.

Half of what I say is meaningless/But I say it just to reach you, Julia.

When I wrote it, when I took it to group, it was good, it was gripping. Now, eh.

How to rekindle that new story magic?

I’ll share what I learn in the coming month as I dive back in, but I’d love to hear your ideas and suggestions.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’

Leave a Reply

