Dressing Myself

Standard
Statue of a pig dressed as a Roman soldier with wings

Piggy Lucius Quinctius Cincinnatus by MoToMo http://www.flickr.com/photos/90155419@N00/ / CC BY 2.0

A few posts ago and on Facebook, I asked for some help dressing myself for tomorrow’s public reading. The responses varied, painting interesting pictures of how people view writers. There is no unified picture, but it was striking how well put together people thought writers were with our designer jeans and tailored blouses.

“Knee length skirt…nice blouse with a loose – yet tailored – fit, and interesting, but understated jewelry.”

“…Casual preppie look. Designer jeans, collared shirt, and sweater or sweater vest. Also glasses. And don’t forget the MacBook!”

“…Very beatnik.”

Not only can I see these writers very clearly, I get a sense of their personality, and how and what they write. Do you?

Of course I received some joke responses (I think!) about togas and purple leotards, but other than them (or including them), each commenter had a definite vision. There was no “just be sure you wear clean underwear” or “don’t forget to brush your teeth” or “it won’t matter, honey, because they’ll be listening to your beautiful words.”

I’m actually quite surprised. I thought that there would be a more cohesive vision of a writer…something that included flow-y dresses or anything black.

When I write, I write in what I happen to be wearing at the time, be it my PJs or what I wore to work. And when I picture a writer, I just picture a person with a pen in one hand and a cup of coffee in the other.

Ah, that’s what I need: a prop!

5 thoughts on “Dressing Myself

  1. Enjoyed reading this. My stereotypical writer image would involve something black, baggy, and probably mismatched. I don’t necessarily recommend that look for tomorrow.

    Let us know what you decide on. And have fun with the reading.

Leave a Reply

