Literary, Victim

Standard

Well, all my worrying about do I/don’t I write about my writer’s group here was all for naught. This week, I found out that the writer’s group (hosted by the library) was slashed due to budget cuts. I feel worse about it than I thought I would.

Earlier in the week, I got a call from a librarian who was very insistent about meeting, in person, as soon as possible. Whenever a meeting is that asap, it’s never a good thing.

Before handing me the reigns, the old group leader mentioned having to fight  the library board to create the group. She insisted that I create a writing resume in case I needed to prove my worth to the board. So, when I got the call, I expected something in my resume was lacking. Granted, I expected a pay cut or, worst-case scenario, to be replaced. I didn’t expect the whole program to be ditched. I mean, we’re talking about writing and a library. They seem to go hand in hand, right?

But the economy is the economy. One of my aunts is the director of the library in a small town and she’s had to close entire branches. Big picture, I’d rather keep the library.

Since I’d only ever communicated with the library staff via email before, I do give them kudos for telling me the bad news in person.

Now, I’m second guessing a lot. Maybe if I hadn’t suggested more meetings… Maybe if I hadn’t asked if doing a second reading was possible… Maybe if I had spontaneously thought of how to keep the cost down… Maybe, maybe, maybe.

When one door closes, another opens, right? Right?! Since I’ve been pondering finding another group outside of the one that I already submit to, this could be a sign that it’s time for me to do that. Or not a sign so much as not another excuse to not do it.

2 thoughts on “Literary, Victim

  1. Jackie

    I sympathize with your feelings, especially because it seems so abrupt. But try not to blame yourself — it’s likely there was nothing more you could have done. And as you said, this may be the gentle push you need to find a new group. It sounds like you need a little time to mourn this group before you figure out what to do next, which is understandable. Good luck in the weeks ahead and keep us posted (I know you will) on your decisions!

    On a slightly unrelated note, I noticed that you have a year’s worth of archives already. Have you really been blogging a year already? That went quickly! Happy blogaversary! Any thoughts on how the first year of blogging has gone?

  2. Cam

    Thanks for the “rah, rah”, Jackie.

    I noticed when I hit 100 posts, but didn’t feel that was a big enough deal to write about…perhaps the year mark is.

Leave a Reply

