Comic Sans Strikes Back

Standard
Sticker with "Comic Sans" with a red line across it

Ban Comic Sans by Steve Keys http://www.flickr.com/photos/stevekeys/3470156862/ /CC by 2.0

A while ago, a friend asked for my help with her resume. I said I’d take a look, but reminded her that, since I wasn’t in her field, some of my comments might not be applicable. Every field looks for different things, so what’s necessary for a copywriter’s resume might mean squat for an aspiring teacher.

My friend was fine with that and then mentioned that she wanted to make her resume stand out by using a different font. I am by no means a resume guru, but my warning bells went off. Everything I have ever read about resumes say to keep it to a certain pool of fonts…don’t go all Brush Stroke to get attention because what you really want is readability. Visions of pink scented paper a la Elle Woods flashed into my head even though my friend is more the Sally from The Nightmare Before Christmas sort.

I stopped myself from shouting “Oh dear God, no!” and went with “just not that horrible Comic Sans.”

My friend was offended. She loved Comic Sans (although, luckily, that wasn’t her resume font of choice). All her friends loved Comic Sans. In fact, they all used Comic Sans in their classrooms. What could I possible have against the font?

What indeed.

Perhaps I’d been hanging around graphic artists for too long and had absorbed their anti-Comic Sans mantra.

My friend liked it because it was cheery. I hated it because it was cheery. My friend liked it because it looked child-like. I hated it because it looked childish.

McSweeny’s swear-fest diatribe gives Comic Sans a decidedly less child-like personality, but I’m still not a fan. Grumble, grumble, grumble.

7 thoughts on “Comic Sans Strikes Back

  1. bethfinke

    The thing that really strikes me about this post is how the word “child-like” conjures up such a different feeling than the word “childish”!I love words! And although I can’t comment much on fonts, I love this post and the way you describe them for us.
    Thinking of you today, World Cup and all. And thanks for the FB comment about this upcoming Wednesday, I just hope the hospital staff focuses more on the patient undergoing surgery than the woman with the guide dog in the waiting room!

    • Cam

      I’m glad you liked the descriptions! I wonder if there’s a voice-reader equivalent to fonts. I don’t know about JAWS, but the Mac’s speech software lets you chose between some horribly electronic voices. Is there a fierce “Vicki” voice contingent out there?

      Thanks for thinking of me during the World Cup. It was a slow, dirty final game. Even though I was going for the Netherlands, Spain’s goal was beautiful.

      I am certain that the hospital will pay more attention to the patient this Wednesday!

  2. Joy

    Bwahahaha!! I just saw this! You’re “friend” sounds familiar! 😀

    And, I still like Comic Sans. 😉

    I will say this in Comic Sans defense… when you’re teaching a child to write, and you want to use a word processor for your Word Wall and other materials, you need a font that’s going to produce letters that look like the letters the child is learning to write.

    Look at the way my letter “a” is appearing in this font… now go look at a letter “a” in Comic Sans. The CS “a” looks like the “a” we want them to reproduce in handwriting… and CS reproduces most of the other letters in the way we want the child to write them too.

    Just puttin’ that out there. In short, I respect your feelings for CS… I just hope you and the other haters don’t make Word get rid of it. Teachers will be sad. Hee hee! 😀

Leave a Reply

