Return of the Font-Wars

Standard

At the risk of turning this into an anti-comics sans blog, I’ll go ahead  and post this article which rips the Cav’s coach for ripping LeBron James…in Comic Sans.

Seriously, if you’re going to write a scathing letter why not just dot your “i”s with hearts.

Update: Safari 5 has an extension called “Comic Sans Be Gone” (scroll all the way down). It “replaces all occurrences of the Comic Sans MS font on any web page with the Helvetica font to improve readability.”

4 thoughts on “Return of the Font-Wars

  1. bethfinke

    Oops. Had intended on leaving this comment to your post on War & Peace, but ended up here instead.
    Oh, what the heck, I’ll leave my comment here.
    Imagine W&P in this font you are talking about!
    My question about W&P is this: of all the classics you have not read yet, why have you chosen this one? I read a classic, hmm, every 8 books or so. From all I’ve heard about W&P, though, it remains on the bottom of my “to read” list. Seems to me most people who read it like to tell me they’ve done so, but then never comment on the plot, the characters, what they learned from reading it? They just want to let me know, hey, they’ve read War and Peace.
    On another completely different note, thanks for your good wishes for Mike, Hanni and me. Must admit, it is not very often that I wish for our lives to be “uneventful” but you hit it right on the head when you used that word in your note, in this adventure, “uneventful” was *exactly* what we were hoping for.
    Gee, Cam. Maybe you should be a writer: you are good with words!

    • Cam

      Re: my being a writer. I have to admit, I was pretty proud of childish versus child-like. I might have to look into this writing thing afterall.

      If W&P were in comic sans, I might give it up…unless it was actually in comic book format. That might be interesting.

      Why W&P? Good question. I suppose part of it is an Everest thing – because it’s there and gigantic. And I don’t like the fact that I tried and gave up.

      However, I did take a Russian lit class in college, so despite complaining about the names, I’m not a Russian lit newbie. Since I’ve read some Russian novels, I’d like to read others from the same culture/tradition.

      I’m also interested in it because a) it’s so over-arching: how does Tolstoy handle so many characters, so many locations and so much time? and b) it’s written in a different time period: how different is the style, for better or worse?

      So, if you’d like me to comment on plot and what I got from it, I can oblige!

Leave a Reply

