Styl-ish

Standard
A woman in sunglasses as reflected in the eye of a horse

I've Been Tagged by *~Dawn~*

I saw I Write Like on a friend’s Facebook page today, but I’m a bit slow to turn it into a post. The Rejectionist beat me to it…and practically everyone else.

The idea: paste in a sample of your writing and a secret, magically scientific algorithm will tell you which famous writer you, well, write like.

Not that I expected them to tell me that my writing was like a 3rd grader’s, but I was a little surprised by my writing style soul mates.

Apparently, this blog is David Foster Wallace-esque. I know practically nothing about Wallace, except that other authors love him. So, I suppose, the fact that I write like him is a good thing. But I’ve always been under the impression that he’s a writer’s writer. Great writing, but practically no one outside of writing knows about him. Please, correct me if I’m wrong.

On the flip side, Julia is more inline with Stephen King – a writer for everyone. Writer’s love him (and his On Writing) and readers love him and Hollywood loves him and movie-goers love him. I even heard someplace, sometime ago, that high schoolers who read King did better on their SATs, so educators must love him, too. So, Julia is like Kings’ stuff…minus the clowns, cars or hotels.

I’m a writer solely for literati and for the masses.

Give I Write Like a whirl and let me know who you stack up against.

And perhaps, in order to find out a little bit more about myself, I should add Wallace’s Infinite Jest to my reading list…right after W&P.

6 thoughts on “Styl-ish

  1. Jackie

    Cam, I got David Foster Wallace… and Dan Brown. For two excerpts from the same piece. I have no idea what this means. Is my writing style really that varied within the same few pages? I started to question the accuracy of IWL.

    Have you read DFW? We read A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again for my book club. The man is a genius, especially in the title essay. However, he’s so brilliant that half the essays went over my head. His work takes some time to digest. Anyway, I think you should take that comparison as a big compliment!

    • Cam

      Jackie, I think a dose of skepticism is a good idea.

      No, I’ve never read Wallace, just heard good things about him. I’ll certainly take it as a compliment, but I’m not sure I want to be seen as so brilliant that I confuse people. Where’s the line between being so brilliant people don’t understand you and being so bad that you can’t get your point across?

  2. I just did it 8 times, with 8 different blog entries, and got 8 different authors who I write like.
    (I think it was 8 times. May have been 5 or 9…)

  3. bethfinke

    I have never read David Foster Wallace but mike has read the essay referred to above and tells me it is indeed genius. You do know that DFW committed suicide last year, don’t you?
    Sad.
    I say stick with writing for the masses.

    • Cam

      I vaguely remember news of him dying and confirmed it on Wikipedia. I tried to think of a funny, non-callous way to say that I didn’t want to follow in those footsteps. I came up short.

      I’m getting lots of “hear-hear”s about the essay, so I’m putting on my “to read” list.

Leave a Reply

