On a Jet Plane

Standard

Sitting in the airport today has given me plenty of time to catch up on blogs I’ve been neglecting *ahem* reading. Obviously I’ve been a pretty poor blogger this month. And, as I’ve written about before, that’s spilled over into my other writing as well.

I am faithfully carrying around a paper copy of my latest scene to edit. Of course it is a beaten up and marked up (perhaps to the point of over-editing). However, the blank back page that was supposed to be for the next scene (on dead tree because I thought that would be easier to do whole staring at the Tarmac) is still blank.

I’ve been worried about this scene. Am I telling enough? Is it over kill? Too much talking?

The reader learns a lot here and I don’t want to mess it up. But I’ve been so focused on this scene and its lead up that, over the past several months, I’ve given almost no thought to what happens next.

Much like me sitting here at the airport. If the plane doesn’t show up soon, what happens next? Today, I was so focused on just getting here: making sure that I was all packed and hadn’t left anything in my hotel room; making sure I got up early up enough to have time to check out and be at the meeting on time; making sure all my bags made it with me to all my meetings and then into the cab…

Luckily for me, it’s all worked out so far. I’m betting that my luck will carry over to my writing as well. Fingers and toes crossed.

How do you readjust when you’ve had your eye on the wrong prize?

One thought on “On a Jet Plane

Leave a Reply

