Patriotic Bookshelf?

Standard

Stuart Evers who wrote the Guardian article Why are we so fascinated with US literature?,  lives in London and, I can only assume, is British, said about 2/3 of his bookcase was devoted to American authors.

Mine is probably closer to 3/3 for Americans, but not on purpose. And a large portion of those non-American writers are older (Shakespeare, Sir Walter Scott, whoever wrote Gilgamesh). I don’t shy away from non-American authors, I guess I just don’t pay attention. Recently, I read A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian (which I recommend!) and didn’t realize the author was British until I saw that she used “favourite.”

A good story is a good story, no matter where the author came from.

Do you read one nationality over another? Why or why not?

Leave a Reply

