Blue Christmas

Standard

 

The tree is a-glowing and wrapping paper droppings litter the room. I’m curled up on the couch, a cup of tea in my hand and a computer in my lap…there’s no better way to end a holiday than with a little writing.

 

Except this writing session made me feel a little Scroogish, like laying someone off before the holidays. I just sliced someone out of a scene. Ouch. And I really liked their part.

Ever since the Research Fairy visited me, I knew that this scene would have to be finagled (the whole A,B,C vs A,C,B thing), but I’d been avoiding it because I liked the soon-to-be axed part so much.

I amputated, left it and came back. The missing piece doesn’t leave the gaping wound that I thought it would. In fact, I smoothed it over quite nicely, if I do say so myself, but I can still see what should have been. And I’m sad to see that part go.

I’ve kept a copy of the pre-amputated scene…just in case, but I know it’s better for the whole of the story if I just let it go.

Can I recycle the clippings? I hope so, but am doubtful. And so a little sadness amid my holiday cheer.

What do you do with your beloved, but deleted scenes, characters and fragments? Do you save them for later or just cut and never look back?

3 thoughts on “Blue Christmas

  1. I never look back. Too painful. lol. But really, I figure what’s the point? I don’t feel comfortable moving my babies from one piece to another. I think if it doesn’t belong where it was created, then bye bye. But, this was no easy feat. Took me a long time to get comfortable enough to be able to do this. Good luck with the choppings 🙂

    • Thanks. I needed to hear that. I always keep pieces tucked away, just in case, and feel bad that I never use them again.

      I think that, maybe, it’s easier for me to do the initial cutting if I think there’s a chance that a piece or character that I love will make a comeback. Nothing like lying to myself to move forward! Ha.

Leave a Reply

