Earthquake Weekend

Standard

It’s been an odd weekend. A little editing, a lot of news watching.

Here’s a video of what looks like the earth breathing. The cracks in the ground open and close with a steady rhythm. At the beginning, it looks like the crack in the earth rips some of the sidewalk concrete as easily as you or I would tear a piece of paper. Later in the video, water fountains up out of puddles in the grass, again with breathing-like regularity.

I am thankful to all the people who pulled out their cameras and phones and started shooting, but even as I watch, I yell at them to move to higher ground (audio is of the sirens, so turn down your speakers).

A picture is worth 1000 words; before and after photos render me speechless. I’m still trying to wrap my head around everything I’m seeing..and I want to hear the stories. I feel guilty, but I’m curious how this will feature in literature in a decade or two.

My local cable company decrypted the NHK Japanese TV station so we can watch it. While I can’t understand Japanese, I would rather watch rehashed footage from their station, perhaps for the very reason that I can’t understand when they say the same information over and over. Or perhaps it’s the Japanese’s love of visuals. Their print-outs and static clings did help me understand the nuclear plant’s situation.

On a (probably inappropriate) lighter note, I remember watching Japanese news when we were over there in 2007 for a friend’s wedding (she and her family are OK). The breaking news was the story of a US woman who put on a diaper to drive halfway across the country in order to confront a romantic rival. The news programs ate it up and used their visuals to the utmost. I believe an anchor even demonstrated, straight-faced, how one wears a diaper for a cross-country journey.

One thought on “Earthquake Weekend

Leave a Reply

