Book Ads

Standard
Old book cover for "This Year's Summer Reading"

This Year's Summer Reading by leiris202 CC 3.0 http://www.flickr.com/photos/60584010@N00/3210745427

Something that struck me about London, that I of course forgot to take pictures of, was all the Tube adverts dedicated to books. I’m not talking the tiny ads above your head when you’re sitting in a train car. I’m talking floor to ceiling ads that confront you while you’re waiting for the train. Ads that are so big that the images of the books they’re selling are people-sized!

It’s been a while since I’ve ridden the El, but I never remember seeing any ads for books. There are ads for companies that will order dinner for you and for research hospitals looking for Guinea Pigs, but no books. What the people themselves are reading was better advertising, but I suppose that is often the case.

Of course, as soon as I started compiling this post, I saw a book ad on my commuter train. This was a small one, no people-sized books. I wonder if this book ad practice is big in other countries and is just coming to my town. Or is this a new phenomenon all around?

I think it’s exciting to see books advertised just as movies and research test subjects are. If it’s a reaction to the upheaval in the publishing industry, I certainly hope it works out.

Have you seen book ads? Am I totally oblivious?

P.S. The two ads I remember seeing most were for The Burning Wire by Jeffery Deaver (with a nod to his upcoming Bond book) and One Day in May by Catherine Alliott. Quite different books.

3 thoughts on “Book Ads

  1. We have them. 🙂 I’ve seen huge posters in train stations especially advertising new books. Picture of the cover, a tagline, sometimes a photo of the author. It’s always certain kinds of books, though. But I guess that’s not so strange – with films and clothes and whatnot, the big ads are usually rather mainstream here too.

  2. There’s a lot more film and tv ads, but it is great to see the book ones starting to appear. I don’t recall them being there ten years ago, so I think it is kind of new.

Leave a Reply

