Huh?

Standard
Dutch book cover wiht Huh?! as part of the title. Cover art shows a clear drinking glass upside down on a white surface and the water in the glass is at the bottom of the glass as if it were upright.

Ik lees nu... by Marco Raaphorst CC 3.0 http://www.flickr.com/photos/raaphorst/3302778779

Turns out I was a bit cocky. I thought I’d be able to tell what my writing group was going to say about the scene I brought tonight. And I was ready.

I knew the weak spots and I was confident that my thoughts would be echoed loudly. Um, nope.

They liked it. Everything I hated, they either liked or assigned a meaning to that made it seem OK.

I suppose I should be pleased, but I can’t bring myself to be.

I’m going to sleep on their comments, but I’m pretty sure this is a case where I’ll be sticking to my guns and revising.

And, yes, I realize how odd that sounds since sticking to your writerly guns usually involves keeping something you wrote that everyone hates.

4 thoughts on “Huh?

  1. bethfinke

    Oh, I am a far lazier writer than you are — or hmm, should that be “I am far more lazy when it comes to writing”? Proof,I guess. I am too lazy to look that grammar rule up.
    ANYWAY, if I myself had pulled a fast one and my writers group ended up liking what I’d thought was poor writing, heck, I’d go with the opinion of the writers group!
    Happy revising, though!

  2. Interesting experience. You’re right, it’s usually the other way around, but I supposed you can write a perfectly good scene, but not really get across what you want with that scene, and then revision is probably a good idea.
    It takes lots of insight, though, so good job!

Leave a Reply

