Guilty Pleasures

Standard

Have you ever had something that you think you’re not embarrassed about until you actually start to tell someone about it…out loud? Beforehand, you’re confident that you’re comfortable with the subject and then, when you open your mouth, you freeze up?

Turns out I’ve been doing that here. I’ve talked about how much I love the TV show Castle (Succinct, Succinct 2), but I’ve never talked about reading the books. I started a post back in March, but never published it.

I’ve read the two Castle books that are out and have enjoyed them. I know they’re a giant marketing ploy and I feel a little goofy walking around downtown Chicago carrying a back cover-sized picture of Nathan Fillion’s head, but the books are fun (although I like Heat Wave better than Naked Heat).

Ken Levine, writer for M*A*S*H, Cheers, Frasier and many more, wrote a nice review.

However, now that the show has ended for the summer, I’m feeling a little lost. What on earth will I do on Monday nights? Write, you say…possibly.

Anyway, I decided to reread the books to tide me over. They’re fun and fast-paced. A good beach read or addict withdrawal soother.

What are your guilty reading pleasures?

2 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures

  1. bethfinke

    This post is perfectly timed. I just finished “The Washington Story” by Adam Langer, a sequel to “Crossing California” (both could be called guilty pleasures, as I was so taken by all the references to Chicago neighborhoods and streets) and am looking for a new book to read. Will check out Ken Levine’s review…

    • Yikes! Now I want to write all sorts of caveats! I did enjoy the books, but there were some cringe worthy phrases, as in “how on earth did his editor let *that* line go to print?” But the feel of the book is very much like the show, so I’m curious how someone who doesn’t watch the show likes the books.

      This is the second time I’ve heard you mention “Crossing California” and I’m a sucker for reading about places I’ve been, so I need to add that to my list.

Leave a Reply

