Stalling

Standard
Woman in a sari reaching for a tea pot. Foreground includes out-of-focus breads. Woman looks intent. Highly shadowed picture.

Laxmi Tea Stall by Abhisek Sarda CC 3.0 http://www.flickr.com/photos/reallynuts/4371753553/

I’m stalling…playing a little solitaire here, rechecking a little Facebook there. This isn’t a case of trying to figure out what happens next in my story. I know. Or at least I’m pretty sure I do. I just don’t want to write it. It’s boring.

I’ve delayed writing a scene because I wasn’t sure how it should end or because I was scared of writing the end I knew it needed. But boring?

If I have to flog myself to write it, it’s going to be no fun to read, and I have to ask myself is it really, really, I mean really, necessary?

I’m parsing out the information I need to impart to see if there’s another way to fit it in. Right now, I’m getting a big fat no. I’m pretty sure I’m wrong about that, but the only solution I can think of right now is dropping the scene entirely and seeing what happens.

How do you deal with your slower scenes (assuming you have them, of course)?

PS Isn’t that picture beautiful? Has nothing to do with stalling, but I had to include it! The photographer is on Flickr and has some other amazing photos.

PPS Don’t forget the Keyword Challenge!

6 thoughts on “Stalling

  1. I’ve always wanted to write a story told by a narrator about procrastinating the actual story they are telling… I’m just stalling, waiting for the right motivation.

    Good luck with the next part of your story.

    Enjoyed the thoughts,
    D

  2. Haha I’m completely inexperienced, but I wanted to wish you luck. Maybe you can revamp it somehow so it’s not so boring to you. How about a sudden alien abduction in the middle of the scene? 😛

  3. I’ve felt this way many times, as the several WIP’s on my computer can attest. They say you should skip to a more interesting scene and fill in the boring bits later. But what do you do when there’s nothing but boring bits left? That’s when I start a different story and then nothing gets finished. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

