Summer Reading

Standard
Child laying in a chair and holding a book over their head, reading.

Summer Reading 3 by KOMUnews CC 3.0 http://www.flickr.com/photos/komunews/3567108623

A few summers ago, a friend and I spent a long weekend at a cabin on a lake. It was warm and sunny with a cool breeze. We sat outside and read all day. At night, we curled up by the fireplace, drank tea and read. It was terrifically relaxing. But what I remember most is that, at meals, we would catch each other up on the books we were reading.

I regaled her with swashbuckling tales from Ivanhoe and the creepy details of The Cutting Room while she filled me in on the romance brewing in Diana (a thick English novel that took place around WWII; I can’t find it on Amazon).

Diana wasn’t a book that I would have normally picked up, but I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. It’s always interesting to hear a story from someone else’s perspective. Their enthusiasm or distaste come shining through and can infect the listener. It’s also interesting to see, or rather, to hear how other people tell stories and what they find interesting and important enough to share.

What’s your favorite summer reading story?

4 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. When I was a kid, I spent a lot of lazy summer days reading books with my sister. Sometimes we’d even fight over who got to read which books first. The times when my mom didn’t let us go to the library we’d be so desperate to read something that we’d reread the books we owned over and over. I miss those days.

    But yeah, it’s a lot of fun hearing someone’s perspective on a book. It gives a lot of insight to what kind of person the storyteller is.

  2. bethfinke

    When I was 16 I landed a summer job waitressing at the Oak Room in Marshall Fields. I met a fellow waitress named Colleen and she is a good friend to this day. Colleen remembers me hiding a paperback copy of “great Expectations” in the pile of cloth napkins we were supposed to fold –I’d sneak a paragraph or two between customers. She was impressed with my so-called “sophistication” and that is part of the reason she wanted to be my friend — one of *many* rewards we get for reading high-quality literature!

    • Ha! I love that story, Beth…one of so many reasons to be your friend! Colleen seems pretty savvy herself.

      “Great Expectations” is quite ambitious for between-patron reading. I wonder how long it took you to finish and if any of your tables reminded you a little too much of Miss Haversham for you to be nice the them…

Leave a Reply

