Backup everything NOW

Standard

Oh, was that a tad alarmist? Sorry.

Big tornado warning tonight. I was at the library for writer’s group and we got to hang out in the center of the building with all the other patrons. It was certainly memorable. Not sure if we scared off the newbie or not.

When the library personnel rounded us up from our meeting, we heard vague reports of a spotted tornado and 80 mile-per-hour winds. People were talking about the recent devastation in Joplin, MO and worrying about their houses.

My first thought: crap, my car isn’t in the garage. My second thought: crap, is Julia backed up?

What kind of writer am I that my story doesn’t come first?

Anyway, I have Time Machine on my Mac, but if my computer flies away in a twister so does Julia!

So, when I came home, I emailed Julia to myself. My husband recommended using Drop Box, which I have now installed. I am also considering putting Julia on a USB stick and and taping it to my body so I have the story with me at all times…perhaps that’s a little drastic.

So, I figure that tonight is as good a night as any to remind you to backup your stories!

No worries though. All is well here. TV and Internet are down (thank goodness for 3G). The next block is without power. Walking home from the library I saw a yard waste trash can in the middle of the street and wondered how far it had travelled. We lost a grill cover. But husband, car and Julia are all safe and sound.

3 thoughts on “Backup everything NOW

  1. bethfinke

    Very good advice. I learned the hard way (well, not via a tornado, just due to computer breakdown) and have everything backed up now. Kind of a pain, but worth it.

  2. When I saw the title of your post I thought “oh no!” But I’m so glad you didn’t lose any important files and that everyone (and everything, other than the grill cover) is sound and safe. Tornadoes sound scary!

  3. Oh, Beth, I’m sorry. I feel very lucky that nothing actually went missing for me to learn to back things up.

    Linda, me too! 🙂 I probably should be more frightened of tornadoes…I was just upset that my internet was out. And yes, I feel bad complaining about that when some people still didn’t have power today.

Leave a Reply

