Do You Smell That?

Standard
Nose sculpture on the side of a building. The nose looks like it's made from bird's nest materials and is a window and a half tall.

Nose Sculpture by heatheronhertravels CC 3.0 http://www.flickr.com/photos/heatheronhertravels/2266490485

Smoke from the Minnesota wildfire (which I didn’t even know were blazing) was blown through Wisconsin and down into Illinois. I smelled it when I left work in the downtown area. North of the city, however, the smell was stronger and the air hazy. My husband described it as “a molasses factory on fire.”

It’s quite a coincidence that the smell travelled so far today, because today I also heard back from another Julia beta reader and she said I needed to add odor to the story. There were places in the piece that jumped out at her because they didn’t have a scented description: mowing, hugging a character who smokes, making a fresh pot of coffee…

I’m hyper aware of the lack of sound in my stories, but the sense of smell never crossed my mind. I’m stunned by Julia‘s complete lack of aroma.

Do your stories smell? Ahem, I mean, how do you deal with the scents in your stories.

5 thoughts on “Do You Smell That?

  1. I have to admit that descriptions aren’t my strong suit, and it took me a while to think about if I’d included scent in any of my writing lately. And I’m pleased to say I did! Back when I was still writing for Camp NaNoWriMo, which was a month ago, but whatever. 😛 Thanks for the reminder!

    • I know, geez. You’d think she’d want my story to be all it can be…or something silly like that. Actually, I’m very thankful for that suggestion. I can’t believe I’d leave out something so obvious!

Leave a Reply

