Holiday Wish Lists

Standard
Stack of old books with cracked and peeling binding. The top book is open to the middle.

Books from th Past by Lin Pernille Photography CC 3.0 http://www.flickr.com/photos/linnybinnypix/1189018851

When I was growing up, my dad was impossible to shop for. For birthdays and Christmases, he’d only ever ask for a black belt. My sister and I would beg and plead for him to add more exciting items to his wish list. He’d add black socks.

At the time, I thought this was some bizarre form of torture that he enjoyed: watching us plead, making us come up with something, anything that wasn’t black socks or a black belt.

However, now that I’m getting older, I get it. I pretty much have what I need and my wants are relatively few. Although, if I’m in need of socks, I tend to spring for them myself.

One thing that always shows up on my list? Books. I include books people have recommended to me or that I’ve read good things about…but I also like to tell people to get me their favorite book, or one they recently read and loved. While I don’t like everything I’ve gotten that way, it certainly pushed me out of my reading comfort zone.

Here’s my list so far this year:
The Terrible Privacy of Maxwell Sim by Jonathan Coe
Little Children by Tom Perrotta
The Mysteries of Harris Burdick by Chris Van Allsburg
The Mysterious Death of Miss Austen by Lindsay Jayne Ashford
The October Country by Ray Bradbury
The Problem of the Green Capsule by John Dickson Carr
Making Waves by Tawna Fenske (blogger I read)
Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

What books are on your list? What other ones should be on mine?

6 thoughts on “Holiday Wish Lists

Leave a Reply

