Speaking of Reading Lists…

Standard

Earlier this week, I mentioned that my To Read Pile had grown and that I was aiming to read 50 books in 2012.

Here’s the newly-minted blog by a teenager attempting to read 176 classics. He’s not restraining himself by time, which is probably smart, however the goal to get through ALL those books is still laudable.

I’ve read about 20 on the list, several thanks to high school English.

How many have you read?

When I see lists like this floating around, I wonder, did earlier centuries keep lists like this? What were the 100 must-read classics of 1812? Or 1712? How many of them do we still know about — not read, just know about — today?

7 thoughts on “Speaking of Reading Lists…

  1. I’m at about 20, as well, plus a few movies. And yeah – thanks high school english! Didn’t realize how heavy we were on Hemingway till now. What do I remember about most Hemingway novels? A lot of drinking and very masculine-acting main female characters.

    • What do I remember about Hemingway? Mostly me bitching about have to read him. I do remember liking “Old Man and the Sea”…but I picked up that book on my own. Wonder if that had anything to do with my liking it.

  2. Thanks for the reading list. I visited the site…I’ve read 27 on the first list and about 15 of the follow-up list (the one marked “overlapping numbers”) on the bottom of the first one. But before I started patting myself on the back, I had the following reflection:

    You gotta wonder who gets to write these lists. Several of them I read as a teen and 20-something because people told me you HAVE to read them if you are to be a well-read person. Yeah, there are a lot of GREAT books on that list (duh, that’s why they’re classics), but there are a lot of ones that I’d object to, like most of the D.H. Lawrence, _The Awakening_, and certainly _Gone with the Wind_. Because people hold them up as “classics,” people continue to read them, even if they really aren’t so well-written, or reflect poor emotional health (If Kate Chopin wanted to talk about bad marriages, maybe she should have written a character trying to save theirs, not escape it in every foolish way possible–IMHO–and Scarlett O’Hara needs a therapist for her narcissistic tendencies).

    I could go on, but then it would be a rant. I shouldn’t rant on my first visit to a blog (such a nice one, too!). Bad manners. 😉

    • Rant away! I completely agree. A majority of the books on the list that I had read, I didn’t like. Of course, that’s not to say that my taste in books should define what’s a classic, but I think it’s good to question the validity of what makes a classic a classic.

      Thanks for stopping by and for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

