Reading/Writing Weekend

Standard

Jackie was curious to know what I thought about Tina Fey’s Bossypants. Last week was a good week for reading in my world. Love it when I can finish a book in fewer than seven days.

I want to start by saying I don’t LOL. I may smile at a sit-com, but I don’t snicker, guffaw or chortle. And I certainly don’t laugh out loud.

While reading Bossypants I snorted. I chuckled furtively. I may have even laughed so others could hear me. It was startling. I’d look around to see who was laughing in a voice that sounded so similar to mine…probably not my 40-year-old male seatmate who was studying his XLS spreadsheet. But you never know.

What I love about watching Tina Fey (and I’ll admit to a crush), is the frankness of her performances. She’s doing it because she’s having fun. She doesn’t come across as trying to do girl humor or boy humor. It’s not forced; she’s just doing what she thinks is funny.

Her book is frank, too. She talks about everything from starting in Second City to SNL (yes, including that whole Sarah Palin thing) to 30 Rock. Oh, and having a personal life. Obviously, I loved the peek behind-the-scenes. And I was interested in her take on the sexism in the industry. But I also found a writing take-away:

From the section  of things Tina fey learned from Lorne Michaels:

2) “The show doesn’t go on because it’s ready; it goes on because it’s 11:30”
This is something Lorne has said often about Saturday Night Live, but I think it’s a great lesson about not being too precious about your writing. You have to try your hardest to be at the top of your game and improve every joke you can until the last possible second, and then you have to let it go.

i.e. Work on your query letter already!

Leave a Reply

