The Written Word, Spoken II

Standard

We’re back. Successful short trip. Successful listening to Tears of the Giraffe on CD. No cars crashed and I was able to pay attention to both the road and the story.

I really enjoyed Lisette Lecat as the narrator.

I liked the story too. This series is the opposite of the hard-boiled detective novels that I’m used to and that makes them fun. The characters are so matter of fact that they puzzle me…but in a good way. I often wonder what it would be like to move in a world where people flat-out said what was going on in their heads. It sounds refreshing, but so foreign I’m not sure I’d know how to cope.

The long and short of it: audiobooks and driving can mix.

2 thoughts on “The Written Word, Spoken II

  1. bethfinke

    My friend Dr. Patricia Wright tells me that’s why she likes working with people who have autism so much: she enjoys moving “in a world where people flat-out say what is going on in their heads.”
    Interesting.
    Glad you made it back safely!

Leave a Reply

