“About the Type”

Standard

Just finished The Peach Keeper. At the end of the book is the requisite acknowledgements page, the page about the author…and the page about the type face used. I don’t remember seeing that in a book before.

But now I know that Fairfield was created by Bohemian-born American Rudolph Ruzicka. The 99-word description of the man and his font used “engraver/engraving” six times…eclipsed only by the word “and” at nine times. The overuse of “engraver/engraving” bugged me, but I suppose there really isn’t a synonym for most professions, so what can you do with 99 words?

I also think I paid more attention to this then I normally would have, because I don’t normally see this kind of about page. Are they always there and I’ve just ignored them?

9 thoughts on ““About the Type”

  1. I seem to recall seeing something similar at the back of the Harry Potter books. There was just a note about what font was used. Although I don’t have the books on hand so I can’t double check. haha, Now I feel like going through all my books and flipping through to see if they have one as well!

    What did you think of The Peach Keeper? I’ve been thinking of buying it, but haven’t yet. 🙂

    • I’m on the road, but I’ll check Harry Potter when I get home!

      I enjoyed The Peach Keeper. I talk a little bit more about it in tonight’s post. For me, it was more of a library book that a buy book.

      • OK, just checked Harry Potter. The very last page (hardcover) talks about the cover art and mentions that the text is set in 12-point Adobe Garamond…originally created by Claude Garamond and redrawn by Robert Slimbach in 1989.

        I really think there should be a Slimbach type…

  2. linda

    I’ve seen notes about typeface in several books before. Sometimes they’re really short, and aren’t given their own page, so you might have missed them. An entire paragraph is more unusual, but I think I’ve come across that a couple times too!

  3. Oh, I’ve seen them a lot!! It’s usually a stand alone page at the end of the book with a paragraph about the typeface, it’s history and common usage. I suppose it must be interesting for some people….

    • Once upon a time, I worked in an ad agency and remember the struggle the graphic designers had, so I do find it interesting. But, for some reason, I don’t pay attention to fonts in books. Bad author.

  4. Sometimes they’re there. I rather like them. Like jenniferneri said, usually I see them on the back cover or last page, the one mirroring the factual information (ISBN etc.) in the front of the book.

Leave a Reply

