Dirty Little Reading Secrets

Standard

I found The Book Lady’s blog today, and the post was terrific. All those things that you should like or do because you’re a reader or a writer but you hate? Those feelings that you bury for fear that someone will find out and call you out as a fraud? Yup, those secrets are now out in the open. And it feels refreshing. You are not alone.

In her comments I fessed up to a few things:

I ended my 8th grade book report on “Red Badge of Courage” with the oh-so-clever “and if you want to find out what happens, you’ll have to read it yourself.” My teacher thought I was being funny. I just couldn’t get past the first few chapters.

If I had to read a book for school, I hated it on principle.

But there are more cobwebs in my closet that could be cleaned out.

I think movies should be taught in English class (not just used as time wasters after exams). Especially for Shakespeare…no more reading him.

As much as I like the idea of a book club, I’m scared of them. Every time I try to talk to a friend about a book, my grand contribution was “I liked/didn’t like it.” I can write opinions, but can’t voice them. Besides, what if all the members like stupid books?

I really don’t like poetry because I don’t want to spend that much time figuring out what something means.

Feel like baring your soul? Leave a comment. Or want to voyeuristically watch other do it? Head over to The Book Lady‘s comments.

6 thoughts on “Dirty Little Reading Secrets

  1. Kim

    I truly enjoy your blog! Like you, I never liked Shakespeare, until I heard the words spoken aloud. Can’t wait to check out The Book Lady.

    In my book club, many of us bring a “cheat sheet” with our opinions. At first (like you), nobody could articulate WHY they liked/hated something. Members rotate turns bringing a short list of suggestions for the next book. We vote on our first and 2nd choices. Within a week, everyone emails the group. If the majority of us hates the book, we go to choice number two. Frequently, we ALL hate our first choice. (Doesn’t say much for our book-choosing abilities!) There are only 7 members so this works.

  2. I (remember) finishing every book assigned for HS English. Even though I got a slightly lower grade on A Tale of Two Cities than my classmate who couldn’t make it past the boring set up and read the Cliff’s Notes.

    Grapes of Wrath was largely left unfinished by my classmates, but the 3 or 4 of us who did read it enjoyed it, for the most part, and weren’t completely squicked out by the ending.

    I did have a hard time getting through Pelevin’s book (in translation) in college. Just took a lot more time and effort than I had budgeted out.

Leave a Reply

