Who Was That Masked Man?

Standard

Or that brooding man upon the moors?

Can you recognize a fictional character from a police sketch?

You may have already seen the Tumblr site The Composite. It houses “Images created using a commercially available law enforcement composite sketch software and descriptions of literary characters.”

Of the (embarrassingly) few characters I’ve actually read about in their books, only one was recognizable to me…and not because I think the sketches were wrong. Ignatius J. Reilly from John Kennedy Toole’s A Confederacy of Dunces looked like I’d pictured him. I didn’t recognize any of the other characters…I just don’t pay attention to character descriptions.

Christian Grey from E. L. James’ Fifty Shades of Grey (which I haven’t read), reminded me of Wolverine from X-Men.

How many of the characters do you recognize?

One thought on “Who Was That Masked Man?

  1. I barely picture characters when I’m reading, honestly. I don’t have a mind’s eye imagining of what they look like. When a book is made movie, I don’t have actors in mind that I think look the part. I also barely pay attention to names, in books or movies, just enough to know who is talking. Anyway. A lot of those sketches are very similar in facial structure.

Leave a Reply

