Turn Off the Book

Standard
Man beind the wheel, reading. Traffic at a standstill.

Traaaafic by vagabond.eye CC 3.0 flickr.com/photos/vagabondeye/4346216196

Woman reading in a gymnasium. She's wearing reading glasses and a neon green wig

Untitled by kizzzbeth CC 3.0 flickr.com/photos/31403417@N00/5111310331

Man reading in a subway car. He's propping his head up with his hand.

People – more bad news by carlos.a.martinez CC 3.0 flickr.com/photos/kumanday/4374733056

Once, I read an interview with JK Rowling in which she said she was constantly reading…even while brushing her teeth. I was jealous. Aside from the fact that I’m not coordinated enough to do that without spitting on the book, I was jealous of all the reading she got in. Imagine how many stories I could live in if I were able to read all the time!

My reading seems to be feast or famine. It can take me weeks to slog through a book (or read nothing), then I can zoom through two books in a week.

I’m currently in my feast phase…and I’m not sure it’s a good thing. My story board lingers…I know what scenes (or rather lack of scenes) I need to focus on, but instead I crack open another book. Research, right?

This procrastination technique isn’t new. My mom once confided that she had difficulty yelling at me to finish my homework. To me, she didn’t seem to have such a hard time, but she said she’d see me on the deck reading a book instead of doing math or studying for a test…but how could she yell when I was reading? Don’t you want your kid to read? Isn’t that a good thing? And it was better than having me watching TV…but I was still avoiding what needed to be done.

Have you ever read too much? Is there such a thing?

Man ina red baseball hat sitting on the curb near a manhole cover and reading a book

The pleasure of reading by Nicola since 1972 CC 3.0 flickr.com/photos/15216811@N06/6032207207

Girl reading by a creek. She's sitting in a dip in the bank so she can lean against th ground while sitting up.

Read Everywhere 2 by Hani Erani CC 3.0 flickr.com/photos/hanieriani/6236773477

POV of the person reading. We see the open paperback book in her hand, the cover folder under. Her fashion boots are up on the desk next to a fish tank.

Reading During Lunch by k.steudel CC 3.0 flickr.com/photos/snaks/4313298998

Black and white of an older woman sitting backwards on a park bench, reading the paper. her Face is scrunched in an angry but intent expression.

Untitles by eflon CC 3.0 flickr.com/photos/eflon/4728375262

13 thoughts on “Turn Off the Book

  1. When I start reading a book then I behave like an addict. I read when I am walking, when I am waiting for the train, when I am in the train, when I am at work (at any opportunity), when I am in the rest room so yeah but the book has got to be good in order for me to behave this way. I was this way for couple of days when I started reading ‘Miral’ by Rula Jebreal. 🙂

  2. bethfinke

    No such thing as reading too much. Love the descriptions of all these pictures. Where did you find them all?!

  3. Kim

    Love the photos of zealous readers. Listen to audio books. You can brush you’re teeth while you read/exercise/do hated chores. Too much reading? Have you ever seen a “this is your brain on drugs” commercial with “reading’ substituted for “drugs”?

    • Kim

      Eeew… Just reread my post. My fingers are itching to edit it. Are horribly worded posts forever? My embarrassed inner-writer is, cringing and smacking our head for making us look brainless. Yet again, my fingers typed faster than my mind could edit. PLEASE ignore my 8:20 am muddle.

      The post SHOULD look like this:

      Love the photos of zealous readers. Try listening to audio books. You can read while brushing your teeth/exercising/doing hated chores. Too much reading? I say impossible! Have you ever seen a “this is your brain on drugs” commercial with “books” substituted for “drugs”?

      Okay, feeling better. I hope we ALL celebrate the lovely, long holiday weekend.

      • No, no. I remember watching it on TV, too. I thought you meant there was a parody with reading and was head to YouTube to find it…cause now everything’s on there.

        Enjoy your holiday weekend!

  4. I’ve had to learn to control how much I read. I would stay up half the night (and whole nights way too frequently) reading. This wasn’t so bad when I was single, and not even that bad with only one child, but with two and now three forget it. I’m a disgrace the next few days when this happens. It’s been a real discipline situation for me to shut the book and sleep.
    But, yes, I too read every chance I have, always did.

Leave a Reply

