Reading To-Do List

Standard

As a member of Goodreads, I get their monthly enews. I only read it about half the time because my mail box it too full of junk (this isn’t Hoarder: Email Edition, promise). When I do get a chance to read them, they helpfully remind me of the books on my currently reading list. Every time, I think: I need to delete those. And then I forget about them until the next enews.

I do plan on finishing those books…it’s just going to take me a while. I’ve been reading 1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina for over three years. It was very interesting, but too much all at once. Sadly, I haven’t wanted to dig back into the horror.

The others (The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay and The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements) both looked interesting, but I couldn’t get into them. I’m still convinced that I will finish all three of these books eventually.

As you can probably guess, I have trouble not finishing books. I can do it, but it took me a long, long time before I actually walked away from my first book. I felt I owed it to the author. I felt I was a failure if I couldn’t finish.

Some people argue that life it too short to read a book you don’t like. I argue that life is too short to clean the bathroom. We all have our things.

OK, I just went and deleted my “currently reading” list. The stack on my nightstand is tall enough without books of years past haunting me. *breathing a sigh of relief*

6 thoughts on “Reading To-Do List

  1. It wasn’t until I was 33 years old that I could say, “I’m not finishing this book. It is NOT going to get better. My time IS valuable,” with no qualms. I’ve now ditched several books that I couldn’t stand, most notably The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and the Kite Runner, both due to violent content.

  2. bethfinke

    I regularly ditch books that don’t grab me within the first 50 pages. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay was one of many books I’ve ditched.

  3. I agree that life is too short to read a book you don’t like! I’m so bad that I still haven’t even read the last books in certain trilogies/series because there’s so many other books I want to read! I do plan on getting around to those books eventually…

    I couldn’t get into The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, either. I wanted to like it because a friend told me it was his favorite book.

  4. Kim

    I slogged through a lot of books before that light-bulb moment. If my “to read list” gets taller than four books, I delete the Goodreads email. And I agree that life is too short to waste time cleaning the bathroom! Luckily, I don’t do much reading in there!

  5. Wow, two of you couldn’t get into Kavalier and Clay either…that makes me feel better. The friend who recommended it was gushing over it. I felt like I was missing something.

    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is on my to-read list, but I keep bumping it down because of all they hype. I know it won’t live up and don’t want to set myself up to be disappointed.

  6. Kim

    Of the books that you mentioned, the only one that I finished (and re-read a year later) is 1 Dead in Attic. Heartbreaking and Fabulous at the same time. So many people moved to Nashville and our surrounding ‘burbs after Katrina. I kept meeting people and listening to their amazing stories. I sought out a book about the hurricane and was told that 1 Dead in Attic is the best so far. You’re right to read it in small doses.

Leave a Reply

