Olympic Procrastination

Standard
Sushi made with spam. Plate has biased cut sushi rolls with small cups with what looks like hot sauce and soy sauce in them.

Spam Musubi by Sam Howzit CC 3.0 http://www.flickr.com/photos/aloha75/7111585553/

Spam by Gold Account:

One minute the house is calm and quiet; the twins are playing Legos in the living room, the puppy is asleep at my feet, my wife is out shopping for groceries, and all is well in the world. I sit at the computer and put the finishing touches on a short story that I’ve been writing all day. And then all hell breaks loose. Somebody hits somebody else, there is a loud crash of glass breaking, there are screams, the dog starts barking, the garage door opens, and my concentration is shot. Does this ever happen to you? Or maybe you have a deadline for a story but that hot girl you’ve been dying to take out finally says yes, and the concert on Saturday is not sold out, and then the next thing you know you’re waking up in a strange apartment with a smile on your face, but you’ve blown the deadline, and nothing was written, not one single word the entire weekend. How do you find the time to write, read, and do research while balancing your personal life? It’s not easy, but here’s how I do it.

And how do you do it? Don’t leave me hanging. Actually, that writing isn’t too bad for a spammer.

No I didn’t go out, hit on hot girls and wake up in strange places to not get my word count in. I blame my lack of word count on the Olympics. I do have a writer’s group on Tuesday, so I need to get in gear so I have something to share. Tomorrow.

5 thoughts on “Olympic Procrastination

      • Kim

        I thought “Usain Bolt” had to be made up. Nope, he’s real and has the best name ever for a track star. I haven’t been watching the network coverage of the Olympics. For the first time ever, it’s possible to watch ALL of the equestrian competition online. Horse-lover-heaven…

    • Brilliant, Kim! I mean, how’d you know?

      I am enjoying the online coverage. It’s too bad that the soccer events I want to watch are on during work hours. Twitter to the rescue!

      I’ve only caught a little dressage, but they look good!

Leave a Reply

