Reading List

Standard

 

I read a few YA (Endlessly, Seraphina), decided to try out something that was blipping on the pop culture radar (Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter), and then I felt the need to try something a little heavier on the lit culture radar (Chaucer’s Troilus and Criseyde). The version I’m reading has been updated to modern language, but it is still taking me a while. I have trouble reading poetry no matter what century vocabulary it’s in.

I love that the books I read range so wildly. I appreciate each of those book for something. As long as the story captures me, I want to read it.

The only downside (other than getting those weird looks when I admit to reading Chaucer for fun) is that I don’t amass a large reading list in the genre I’m writing in. It makes it harder for me to give examples of similar work in my query letter.

Thanks the to Pitch Polish, I think I have a much stronger query letter…at least when it comes to the pitch of Julia’s story. As far as the rest that you’re “supposed” to add — the audience, the comparison novels, the amazing author credentials — well, that could still use some help.

Do you find that you read in the same genre all the time? Or are you more sporadic?

18 thoughts on “Reading List

  1. GreedyFrog

    Like you, I “genre-hop” all the time. In the past few weeks, I have gone from re-reading “Cyrano de Bergerac” to discovering “Barnaby Rudge” by Dickens, and I am now re-reading Jasper Fforde’s “Shades of Grey” (which bears absolutely no relation to the recent bestseller). Other recent reads include historical novels, and a biography of Axl Rose…

  2. bethfinke

    I force myself to be sporadic, but my favorite books ten to be character studies (rather than plot-driven ones). Can you keep a secret? You promise? Okay. I hardly *ever* read memoirs.

  3. I used to be sporadic (classics, sci-fi, westerns, horror, thrillers), but am now pretty entrenched in a particular genre, with the occasional side-steps. The last few books include stuff like Micro (Michael Crichton), Ready Player One (Ernest Cline), Robopocalypse (Daniel H Wilson) and am now into Kraken (China Mieville)… and there was Anno Dracula (Kim Newman) among them as well. That’s not counting the numerous comics and Trade Paperbacks.

    • bck1402-I LOOOVE reading China Mieville. I think he’s not yet at the peak of his game, but I learn a lot from reading him nonetheless. So smart.
      I tend to genre hop a lot in my reading, favoring sci-fi (and SF!), fantasy, mystery, and classics. I read A LOT of YA. I tend to write a lot of the same genres (although I’ve never really done mystery, alas). However, there are some genres I avoid: memoir, most biography, contemporary adult fiction, romance, gory horror. My biggest problem is that I’m an adult woman with the tastes of a teenage girl or young man. A nerdy one. When girlfriends ask me what I’ve read lately, half of them roll their eyes at me.

      • Kraken’s my first Mieville, giving a shot because of the numerous rave reviews (especially from SFX). This kind of ‘urban fantasy’ (as SFX labelled it) is not really something I’ve gotten into except when I was reading Hellblazer. Still early into it.
        And I don’t think a person should be defined by their tastes in reading genre (or even movies, or music).
        🙂

      • Enjoyed it like crazy, probably because I grew up in that era so I got a load of the references (maybe except the games). I gave away my first copy and then bought another to read again.

  4. Kim

    The article talked about all the creativity here, but never mentioned our famous authors or the fabulous Southern Festival of Books Oct 12-14. Y’all should all come. Nashville is officially considered “cool” by the hipsters. Just don’t visit in August!

  5. Sporadic.
    But I gravitate towards paranormal, historical, and fantasy. But I read everything & anything, even stuff I hate! Lol. It’s good to know what I don’t like & what I don’t think works!

Leave a Reply

