Banned Books Week 2012

Standard

Banned Books Week usually catches me by surprise. One reason: it’s not listed on my calendar. The other: I’m surprised we still ban books, especially when we as a country hold free speech so dear. As the President said to the UN today (full speech):

Americans have fought and died around the globe to protect the right of all people to express their views, even views that we profoundly disagree with.

I always supposed that protected-but-disagreed-with idea held for books and other art too.

But this year I’m ahead of the game! The American Library Association trumpets Sept 30-Oct 6, 2012 to be Banned Books Week on their website bannedbooksweek.org. There are events, user-created videos and, of course, lists of banned books.

The reason I’m ahead of the game this year is that I found this video by Bookmans, an independent bookstore, thanks to Twitter:

I feel that reading Harry Potter again would be cheating, so I’m going to check the lists for new-to-me books to read in between stanzas of Troilus and Criseyde.

What are you reading for Banned Books Week? You still have a few days to pick something up!

7 thoughts on “Banned Books Week 2012

  1. bethfinke

    I tried the ALA link but couldn’t find a page where all the books are in a list. Do you have a direct link to a text-based list of the banned books? I want to read (at least) one next week!

Leave a Reply

