Year Book and Lies

Standard

One of the ideas bouncing around my head still has nameless characters. I keep thinking that I like Ashley/Ashlee/Ashleigh, but when I see it typed out I’m not sure I can live with it for months and months. And the guy’s name is even more elusive.

Since a bulk of the story takes place where I grew up, I decided to pull out my high school year books to find common names. I still haven’t settled on the MCs’ names, but I’m closer.

Of course, flipping through a year book is never a quick activity…especially when looking at my senior year book.

For senior pictures, all the extracurricular activities that you did are listed under your name. Of course, they let you fill this out yourself and, it turns out, it was all on the honor system. My friends and I wanted to have more activities under out name than were legitimately there, so we made up a club. Apparently, I was the Siddhartha Club historian my junior and senior year. To be fair, I do remember spending several lunch periods meetings complaining about that book.

Since we named the club after the book by Hermann Hesse, I think we were more nerdy than rebellious.

Anyone else have to read that book?

10 thoughts on “Year Book and Lies

  1. Hey, nerds can be rebellious. 🙂 I had to read Siddartha in high school, too, although I remember liking it better than some of the other books I got stuck reading. Camus’s The Stranger? What a slog that was.

  2. Kim

    Honestly, I’d never heard of “Siddhartha” until today. I Googled it. During my senior year in a Tennessee public high school, we dissected “A Separate Peace” until I grew to loath a story that I had loved.

  3. Never had to read the book, but can relate to the name thing. There’s a character in my book that I call Caleb–changed the spelling to Kaleb and it looked much better to me. Weird? Good luck with your Ashley/Ashlee/Ashleigh character.

  4. Linda Miller

    I have Siddartha in my basement! I think my copy is from high school, and I think I read it for a Humanities class I loved, but now I have to re-read it to determine whether its long stay in my life is justified. As far as names, I like the website babycenter.com–can find historically popular names and use an “explorer” tool that branches out from a name you like to related options.

  5. Indeed, it was the book that best illustrated the idea of two opposing statements both true without a synthesis between them. This was a key image in my understanding of the Cold War. It also was key in my understanding of love and image of betrayal.

    I did enjoy _A Clockwork Orange_ more as a literary study, though. It did take longer to absorb but in the end the technique of pushing a character a step beyond reason and withdrawing a modicum of restraint produced a type turmoil and strife I had never before considered.

    I enjoy both of these themes very much. I try to reflect them in my own writing.

    Once upon a time I was asked if I was ready to do something that was completely beyond the pale of reason. I answered that I was because I had read _Siddhartha_.

Leave a Reply

