Merry Bookmas

Standard

Here’s my Christmas book haul for 2012 — a terrific kick off for my 2013 reading challenge:

Book spines: The Coal Tattoo by Silas House, Life of Pi by Yann Martel, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, Authentic Mexican by Rick Bayless (cookbook), and Mexican Everyday by Rick Bayless (cookbook). Book cover facing the camera: Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Randsom Riggs

Christmas presents displayed against a neon yellow scarf…showing that composition isn’t my forte.

OK, maybe not the cookbooks. Does anyone read cookbooks from front to back?

And minus the lone front-facing book because Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was this year’s number 50!

What a terrific number 50 it was, too. As a YA, it was a quick read, but Miss Peregrine was also well written and thoroughly enjoyable. The MC is 16-year-old Jacob who finds that his grandfather’s stories of monsters and mystical beings aren’t all fairy tales.

I love how Ransom Riggs weaves old photographs into the story. It’s as if he found a box of random old photos and challenged himself to connect them all via story. The pictures are printed throughout the book and I couldn’t wait to see how he explained them. My favorites were the ones that had clearly been manipulated…the levitating girl on the cover being one. As soon as people discovered photography, we figure out how to play tricks with it. Photoshop before Photoshop. I also loved the last picture (no peeking!) because it wasn’t manipulated. However, when I first saw it, I didn’t see the whole thing…not until I read his description. Then I saw the background and the bizarre-ness of reality hit. Hmm, could I be any more vague? Probably.

Now, I have to stop myself from diving into the next book in the stack and focus on my own writing.

2 thoughts on “Merry Bookmas

  1. When I unwrapped “Life of Pi,” my mom was teetering on the brink of telling me all about it. She looked like she was about to burst, but settled for “you have to tell me when you read it.”

    I’m excited to read it, but I didn’t make it my 50 because I’m always afraid to read books that people love so much they’re about to burst. If I don’t love it equally, how do I tell them without crushing them? Hopefully, that won’t be the case!

Leave a Reply

