Reading My Way Through Chiberia

Standard

It’s a bit chilly up here, even after Chiberia and the Polar Vortex blew over. But what better time to curl up under three or four blankets and read what I got for Christmas.

Books in front of a Christmas tree

From left to right:
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Envious Casca by Georgette Heyer*
Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
The Psychopath Inside by James Fallon
The Devil’s Trill by Gerald Elias*
The Orchard by Theresa Weir*
Clouds without Rain by PL Gaus*
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson
Peril, Kentucky by Joseph Anthony
The Ice Storm by Rick Moody*
River of Earth by James Still
The Gardener’s Friend: A Miscellany of Wit and Wisdom by Lesley Masters *
An Uncommon History of Common Courtesy by Bethanne Patrick*

You may wonder why I received two psychopath books. No, my family isn’t trying to tell me something. Those were both purchased by me with a gift card (thanks sis!) for researching my WIP.

I’ve already finished reading Envious Casca and Clouds without Rain.

Envious Casca is a classic British aristocratic who-dun-it a la Christie or Sayers. I’m surprised the British have any aristocrats left they way they like to off each other in detective novels. Anyway, this one had good descriptions and dialogue, even if you didn’t like all the characters. I waffled on the who, but ultimately landed on the right one. The couple who I thought should be together, got together, so, ultimately, a satisfying read. The dialogue was worth paying attention to as a writer. It felt natural while adding to the time and place of the novel.

Clouds without Rain was also a mystery, but from a world away: Amish Pennsylvania. While quite a bit shorter in length, this on took me longer to get through. It was a little slow, mirroring the Amish pace of life. The story begins in the middle of the action and I felt like I had missed something that had happened between the characters. Past exploits were referenced, but as a reminder rather than an explanation…and that made sense once I realized that this is the second book in a series.

Did you get any good books this year?

*These came in a Surprise Package from Bas Bleu (perfect gift from my husband). When people ask what I’d like for Christmas, I always tell them to get me a book that they enjoyed reading. I love to explore new books and new genres this way…so of course I was excited by this idea: a random shipment of books! As you can see, it’s quite an assortment. My next WIP might have to have a gardener in it.

One thought on “Reading My Way Through Chiberia

  1. I love book lists, so thanks for this one — of that pile of books, the only one I’ve read already was Night Circus. Eager to hear what you think of that one, and of the others, too.

Leave a Reply

