Feelings: Water

Standard

Every Thursday I take a water aerobics class.

This post isn’t to bore you with my exercise routine or to discuss that, as a kid, I was convinced that Jaws lived in the diving end of the pool and that she would eat me if I turned my back (did I type that out loud?).

I want to talk about the feeling of water. I love it, but it’s hard to describe. I definitely feel surrounded, cocooned, by a slight pressure, but I can run, squat, do jumping jacks or other exercises. There is more resistance, but my cocoon isn’t restrictive.

Close to the surface, water glides over me. Deeper under, I can push through or float through.

I was thinking this because I didn’t shave before class. Instead of a single sheet of silk or ribbon flowing over my legs, I felt many, slight ripples all around.

I don’t need to describe this feeling in my WIP or anything, but was struck by the difference and my lack of ability to put the difference into words. Even what I have above doesn’t “feel” right.

I spent most of my class actually paying attention to the instructor. Silly me. I should have spent more time just moving and thinking about the right words.

Have you ever needed to describe moving in water? How did you do it?

One thought on “Feelings: Water

Leave a Reply

